A Brief Explanation of Worker’s Compensation
If you are injured or become ill on-the-job, you are probably covered under Nevada’s Worker’s Compensation laws. Most workers have heard the term, but few know whether the law covers them, or how benefits are claimed until, or in some cases after, they need to use it. Due to this lack of knowledge, many times, deadlines are missed and benefits go unclaimed.
In its simplest form, Worker’s Compensation means that if you are injured or become ill on-the-job, you may be entitled to compensation under state law. This coverage is no-fault, and you may be covered even if the injury was partially your fault or the result of a pre-existing condition, slip and fall accident, driving in a company vehicle, or even just walking into or leaving the workplace.
Benefits Covered Under Worker’s Compensation
Worker’s Compensation benefits cover such items as lost wages due to the accident or illness, medical expenses, rehabilitation costs, and even vocational rehabilitation. In cases where a worker has become disabled due to the injury or illness, various types of disability benefits may also be available.
Steps in Filing a Claim
If you are injured on the job, it is critical that a claim be filed within 7 days of the incident or onset of illness. In most cases, when reporting the incident to your employer’s human resource department, you will be referred to a worker’s compensation medical provider, who will fill out the form C-4 titled “EMPLOYEE’S CLAIM FOR COMPENSATION” and mail it to your employer. If this is unavailable to you, you should obtain medical treatment from an emergency medical provider and they will complete the form. In any case, you can obtain the form from the State of Nevada website, and provide it to your medical provider at the time of treatment. You will receive notification within 30 days if your claim was approved or denied. Once again, this must be done within 7 days, or you will most likely lose your rights to Worker’s Compensation benefits.